Student Cluster Competition        
SC22 Logo
SC22 Logo
2022 Competition
Dallas, Texas

Overall Winner:   National Tsing Hua University
Highest Linpack:   University of California, San Diego (114.26 Teraflops)
HPCG:   Friedrich-Alexander-Universität (1.97 Teraflops)
io500:   University of Texas, Austin (Score: 42.486)
Overall Virtual Winner:   Sun Yat-sen University

Dallas Convention Center
Kay Bailey Hutchison Convention Center, Dallas

Pioneer Plaza
Pioneer Plaza, near the Convention Center

2022 Competition Details

The SC22 Student Cluster Competition was an in-person event in Dallas, November 14-16, 2022, with a virtual component for teams who could not travel to the conference due to COVID restrictions. The competition was chaired by Stephen Leak, National Energy Research Scientific Computing Center (NERSC).

Competition Rules

Dynamic Power Limit

Cloud Component

Teams had access to cloud-based HPC resources in Oracle Cloud Infrastructure and in Microsoft Azure.

AI Benchmark

In 2022, the SCC introduced an AI benchmark to the suite of benchmarks teams ran. In this inaugural year, the AI benchmark was optional for bonus points. Teams were encouraged to run the MLPerf inference benchmark for RetinaNet (image detection).


(Description, results, photos, posters)

2022 Teams

(Follow the "Team Page" links for more information.)

Teams who competed in Dallas:
Teams who competed remotely:
The Indy teams:

 SCC22 Participants
SCC 2022 Participants

SC22 Committee
SCC 2022 Committee

SC22 Winners
SCC 2022 Winners

The SCC wishes to thank the following for their generous
support of the Students@SC program, including the SCC

In-kind Donors:

Azure Logo                         Oracle Logo

Platinum Donor:

Jack Dongarra

Gold Donors:

IEEE Logo                        Cornelis Networks Logo

Bronze Donors:

Meta Logo
        BP Logo                Chevron Logo               
Intersect360 Logo